Monday, November 5, 2012

Turin and the cities of Piedmont

Panorama of Turin
Piedmont has only one major city, Turin, and other five provincial capitals of smaller size: Alexandria (includes common and 477 190 thousand inhabitants many), Asti (120, 219 000 inhab.), Cuneo (250 municipalities, 547 000 inhab.), Novara (165 municipalities, 547 000 inhab.), Vercelli (169 municipalities, 403 000 inhab.).
The first  future inhabitants of the torinese territory were the tribes ligurians of Taurinii. The Romans founded after a city that was called Augusta Taurinorum (29 BC) and then Turin. Destroyed in 69 ad by a fire, it will undergo other destructions in sec. IV and V.
Then under the Dominion of various invaders (Byzantine, Lombard bardi); until, after being a free comune, passed in 1280 under the Dominion of the Savoys. In The Risorgimento Turin was, thanks to Vittorio Emanuele II and Cavour, the Center from which began the political unification of Italy.
 In our century, Turin became the capital city of the automobile. Today Fiat is the most important industry not only in Italy, but on the all Europa.
Turin boasts splendid monuments which recall its long history. Among the many: the Roman theater, the Porta Palatina, the remnants of the Porta Praetoria, Castle, the Royal Palace, Palazzo dell'Accademia delle Scienze, the Mole Antonelliana (167.50 m) built in 1863-88 by architect Antonelli.
The other provinces of Piedmont have considerable importance and historic and economic and artistic.
Novara, for example, was already in Roman times, when it had the name Nova air. Ivrea, not far from Turin, is home to the more important for national industry Office and electronic equipment: the Olivetti.
After the 1955, Piedmont, and especially Turin, have enthusiastically to a very strong immigration of southerners, attracted from the abundance of jobs offered by Industrialization.

Find an accommodation in Turin: Hotels in Turin

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to add comments. Ah, they are moderated, so please NO SPAM